Thai chicken with basil and chillies

After 7 interminably long months, we finally moved into our newly extended kitchen. I was pretty spoiled in the great scheme of things while it was being done; the builders moved the old oven, dishwasher, cooker, sink, washing machine into the dining room but it was hardly the most inspiring space in which to cook. Now I have no excuse not to share a couple of my favourite old recipes and new ones. The new ones really being the point of this.

I was well under way with this last week when I decided to blog it. It’s from an old, old book by Sara Buenfeld called Home From Work Suppers, full of recipes mainly for two people that aren’t hideously time-consuming.

As the recipe says, it’s a good idea to have everything ready before you start cooking as it all happens pretty quickly once you start cooking.

Slice two chicken breasts, crush two garlic cloves and finely chop a red chilli. Needless to say I don’t deseed.

Stick these together in a wok or similar with some oil and fry until it starts to colour.

Add a teaspoon of ground coriander and a tablespoon of soft brown sugar.

And then add a whole bunch of sliced vegetables. These are 4 spring onions, a large red pepper (I actually used one orange and one red) and 90g of sugar snap peas or mange-touts. I have no idea what 90g looks like so I add whatever I feel like. I do slice them lengthways first. Voilà! The pre-prepared goodies.

Stir fry the whole lot until the chicken is completely cooked but the vegetables still have some bite.

Then stir in the sauce which is a tablespoon of fish sauce and a tablespoon of soy mixed with a teaspoon of cornflour. The recipe says light soy but I prefer dark. Hardly that rebellious.

The sauce will thicken and coat everything in a pleasing way 😊… Finally rip in some Thai basil. Obviously ordinary basil is fine but the Thai stuff elevates the dish to a whole new level IMHO. I served it with simple white rice.

Do it again? I think I have copied this recipe for friends more than any other.

I really must blog some newly-tried recipes 🙄.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close