Fusion Tandoori chicken

Back to those wonderful Hairy Dieters.

When I looked at the ingredients for this, I did scratch my head a little and think, “How on earth does that work?” But I trust these guys so I had to give it a go.

It’s easy. You know I like those recipes that are.

In some sort of blitzer put 100g of natural yoghurt, 2 tablespoons of chopped dill and 2 tablespoons of drained capers. And blitz.

Add this to 100g of tandoori paste and a teaspoon of chilli powder and mix well.

Slather this over skinned chicken drumsticks which you have slashed a couple of times. I hate skinning drumsticks but this is tempered by my love of slashing them deeply. Strange. Leave to marinate for as long as you can.

Pop the chicken on a wire rack over a foil-lined tray and into your oven, set on its highest setting, for 20-25mins, turning regularly. They should char a little at the edges if your oven is mad hot.

I served mine in a wholly inappropriate bowl with mixed salad.

It’s a unique flavour, that’s for sure. I forgot to put the chilli power (shock horror) in so there was no discernible heat. The dill and the capers brought freshness and tang. Flavoursome.

Do it again? Yes, weird but in a rather lovely way. Next time I’ll go for an even higher oven setting for more crusty gnarliness.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close